With our Direct add process, you can add people to your school and/or create classes for them before creating rostered accounts and/or classes using an SIS sync method. If you want to use the Direct add and an SIS Sync method to provision accounts, you'll want to consider the following:
- When you share SIS sync data with Remind at a later date, make sure your organization’s data input is different from what you previously entered via Direct add. This prevents you from creating identical classes for your teachers, students, parents, and staff. This will also allow you to distinguish between classes you manually created through Direct add and classes you created through SIS Sync rostering.
- Ex. If you manually create a Science class for your Science teacher and name it “Astronomy”, you'll want to be sure to use a different class name, such as “Astronomy 101” when you SIS Sync.
- When your SIS Sync is complete, the classes you manually created for your organization via Direct add will not merge with the SIS synced classes. If you no longer want your members to use these classes, you, or the class owners, will have to archive the manually created classes.
- Ex. If you manually created a class for your 11th grade Science teacher and named it "Astronomy" via Direct add, and also created a class for them via SIS Sync rostering called "Astronomy 101," when the teacher logs in to their Remind account, they'll see both classes listed under their Classes Owned section. If you want the teacher to use the rostered class instead of the manually created class, they should archive their "Astronomy" class, and proceed to use "Astronomy 101.”
- Participants you directly add to manually created classes will not appear in any SIS Sync classes if you do not include them in the SIS Sync data.
- Any participant who is added to the SIS Sync data with the same contact information that is connected to their manually created account will have the same Remind account after rostering is complete. Their account will simply become a rostered account. If their contact information in the rostering files is different from what is connected to their manually created account, a duplicate account will be created. The participant will have two accounts - a non-rostered account and a rostered account. They'll need to merge their two accounts, or you can merge them from your admin dashboard. Through merging the two accounts, the participant will keep their classes but also lose the merged account’s message history.
- Ex. 1 - If the student Tom Michaels already has a Remind account with the email address email@example.com, and you add him to the SIS Sync files with the same email, firstname.lastname@example.org, he will be able to log in to Remind using the same login. His Remind account will change from a non-rostered account to a rostered one.
- Ex. 2 - If the student Tom Michaels already has a Remind account with the email address email@example.com, and you add him to the SIS Sync file with a different email address, firstname.lastname@example.org, a second Remind account will be created for him with the second email - email@example.com. We highly recommend participants only use one Remind account; so Tom Michaels should merge his duplicate accounts.