To ensure your district Remind data accurately reflects changes made in your Student Information System (SIS) each term, complete the steps outlined in this article before the start of a new term.
We recommend pausing your SFTP file transfer to Remind during periods when your district's SIS data is rolling over to a new semester.
This article contains the following sections:
- Ask teachers to archive non-rostered classes
- Review and update shared SIS data in Remind
- Resolve sync holds
Before the next term begins, send out a Remind message to all of your teachers and ask them to review all of the classes that are listed under the Classes owned section of their Remind account. They should archive all of the classes they manually created and do not plan to use in the new term. Share this instructional article on archiving classes with them.
Optional: You can archive classes for your teachers in bulk. When you archive their classes, your teachers will receive an email notification that their classes have been archived. We highly recommend sending out an announcement to all of your teachers to let them know you're going to archive their old classes before you do so.
- Review the SIS data you are sharing for each school in your district.
- Update all of the required CSV files for your sync type with the data for the new term.
- Transfer all of the required CSV files to Remind via SFTP.
When you reuse the same class_id, you can accidentally add new participants in the old class instead of creating new classes. This is why we always recommend creating new class_ids for each term.
After you upload your new CSV sync files, our system will place your district's sync on hold if it detects a large number of data removals or other data configuration issues as a precaution. Read more about how to manage SIS sync holds here.
We highly recommend you do not release the sync hold until you are ready for teachers to receive an email notification about their new classes.
- Download the CSV file from your SIS sync tab and review the details of the changes detected.
- Approve the changes to transfer your new data.
- Share this article with your teachers on how to claim their new classes.
Next steps: When your new term data is successfully shared with Remind, teachers will receive an email about their new classes. Once they log in to their account, teachers will be prompted to archive their old rostered classes from the last term and claim their new classes. Parents and students will get notified about their new classes after teachers claim them.