With participant messaging, you can choose how participants message each other in a class.
STEP 1: Update your class settings
To update participant messaging, log into Remind on web or app, go to your class, and click the class Settings tab.
STEP 2: Choose how participants in your class can message each other
As a class owner, you have three options for managing your classes’ participant messaging.
On: All class participants can view other class members and send messages to anyone regardless of their role.
Role-based: All class participants can view other class members, but they will only be able to send messages to the class participants that have their same role.
For example, a person with a student role will only be able to send a message to another student. A student will not be able to send a message to a parent and vice versa.
As long as you have two-way chat enabled, class participants will still be able to message you and other teachers.
Off: Class participants cannot view the People list of the class or HAVE conversations with other class participants. If you have replies enabled for your account, class participants will still be able to send messages to you since you are the owner of the class.
In order for users to chat on Remind, even if there is prior chat history, your participants must be in the same class together that the chat was originally created in and the class must have the necessary chat permissions enabled.
PLEASE NOTE: If your school has Remind Hub, your administrator can set default class settings, including participant messaging, for all classes across your school. You will see this default setting already selected as part of your class settings page as shown in the example below.