Who can see and message each other in a class?

This is only for teacher accounts. The checkbox in the class settings controls multiple features of your class. This checkbox lives in your Class settings (gear icon on web, 3 dots then Class settings on Android, class name on top of screen with > next to it on iOS). 



By leaving the box checked:

  • Your class is searchable in the school. Participants on Remind can join your class by using the "Search for your class instead" option.
  • Your participants can see each other's names. As a participant, they can click the People section and view other participants in the class.
  • Your participants can add and invite others to join the class. 
  • Participants can message with each other. 

If you uncheck this box:

  • Your class is not searchable in the school. Participants will be able to see your name but won't be able to join your class by using the "Search for your class instead" option.
  • Your participants will not see the other names. They will be able to see the number of participants but only able to see the names of class owners.
  • Participants can't start conversations with each other. They will only be able to start a conversation with the teacher if they have two-way conversations on. 
  • Your participants can't add anyone to join the class.