For all Remind Hub administrators who created user accounts via a Classlink sync.
To ensure your district Remind data accurately reflects changes made in your Student Information System (SIS) each term, complete the steps outlined below before the start of a new term.
We recommend pausing your Classlink data transfer to Remind during periods when your district's SIS data is rolling over to a new semester
This article contains the following sections:
- Ask teachers to archive non-rostered classes
- Review and update shared ClassLink data based on your SIS sync method.
- Clear Sync Holds if any.
- Classlink sync rollover behaviors
Ask teachers to archive non-rostered classes.
Before the next term begins, send out a Remind message to all of your teachers and ask them to review all of the classes that are listed under the Classes owned section of their Remind account. They should archive all of the classes they manually created and do not plan to use in the new term. Share this instructional article on archiving classes with them.
Optional: You can also archive classes for your teachers in bulk. When you archive their classes, your teachers will receive an email notification that their classes have been archived. We highly recommend sending out an announcement to all of your teachers to let them know you're going to archive their old classes before you do so.
Review and update shared ClassLink data based on your SIS sync method.
We highly recommend you don't reuse class Sourced ID. You should update them each semester for all classes - even if the same teacher is teaching the same subject with the same class name.
- Check your organization’s ClassLink account to ensure that your new term data is being shared with Remind.
- Ensure that any holds in ClassLink are released.
When you reuse the same class Sourced ID, you can accidentally add new participants in the old class instead of creating new classes. This is why we recommend always creating new class_ids for new terms.
Clear Sync Holds, if any.
After you upload your new CSV sync files, our system will place your district's sync on hold if it detects a large number of teacher, student, parent, or class removals or other data configurations as a precaution. Read more about how to manage SIS sync holds here.
We highly recommend you do not release the sync hold until you are ready for teachers to receive an email notification about their new classes.
- Download the CSV file from your SIS sync tab and review the details of the changes detected.
- Approve the changes to move forward.
Once teachers log in to their accounts and claim their classes for the new term, parents and students will get notified about their new classes.
ClassLink sync rollover behaviors
Remind will import the second-term rosters as soon as you include them in the ClassLink data that you share with Remind. As the data in ClassLink changes, you may see the following behaviors with your sync:
- Sync Hold - When shared ClassLink data no longer includes first-term classes or enrollments, Remind will place your sync on hold because of data removals.
- To review the hold, navigate to the school’s SIS Sync Report page.
- If the data looks correct, click “Confirm Removals” to clear the hold. Once the hold is cleared, your new term rosters will begin populating in Remind.
- Archive Rostered Classes and Claim New Classes - Teachers are prompted to archive old classes and claim new classes that you create for them via their Remind account on their first log-in after the data has been processed.
- New Teacher Notifications - New teachers added to your SIS over the term break will receive an automatic notification when your SIS sync resumes.
- New Class Notifications - Notifications about new class enrollments will be sent automatically.